About Eionet

The European Environment Information and Observation Network (Eionet) is a partnership network of the European Environment Agency (EEA) and its 38 member and cooperating countries. The EEA is responsible for developing Eionet and coordinating its activities together with National Focal Points (NFPs) in the countries.

The NFPs are responsible for coordinating networks of National Reference Centres (NRCs), bringing together experts from national institutions and other bodies involved in environmental information.

Eionet also includes seven European Topic Centres (ETCs). They are consortia of institutions across EEA member countries dealing with a specific environmental topics and contracted by the EEA to perform specific tasks of its work programme

The Eionet Portal (this website) is the Eionet members’ basic entry point to all the web based tools and services available for networking, information sharing and data collection in the Eionet. The Eionet portal hosts both publicly accessible information and information only accessible by logged in users. By logging in on the Eionet Portal, the users can access the restricted information maintained under the www.eionet.europa.eu domain, while a separate login, but with same username and password, is required in order to access restricted information on other Eionet websites.

The Portal website hosts for example the Eionet User Directory (restricted access) and the (sub)sites of the ETCs (publicly accessible) while the Eionet Forum and the Eionet Planner are examples of services on other websites (see further under Workspace)


The Concept

Taking up its work in 1994, Eionet has become a well-known and trusted provider of high‑quality data, information and assessments for Europe.

The concept of Eionet encompasses the following defining elements:

  • Strong institutional cooperation across several levels (national, regional, European, international) as well as partnerships with civil society, facilitated by a coordinating entity
  • Agreed common content — data, information, indicators, analysis
  • Shared infrastructure, standards and tools.

Member and cooperating countries

The EEA currently has 32 member countries and six cooperating countries. The 32 member countries include the 27 European Union Member States, together with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey. The six cooperating countries are Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia as well as Kosovo (without prejudice to positions on status, and in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo Declaration of Independence)

For further information, see the pages under Countries on the main menu and the Countries pages on the EEA main website

Eionet partners

National environmental organisation nominated and funded by the country and authorised to be the main contact point for the EEA, other Eionet members, and relevant actors. The NFP coordinates the national network consisting of numerous National Reference Centres (NRCs) in order to support the implementation of the EEA work programme.

National Focal Points (NFPs)

The National Focal Points are the main contact points for the EEA in the member and cooperating countries. They are in charge of cooperation with the EEA and the ETCs and organise national coordination of activities related to the EEA Multiannual Work Programme (initially 2014-2018, now 2014-2020). NFP working methods differ from country to country. This partly reflects the diverse nature of the national environmental systems within which they are based. For example, some NFPs are located in environment agencies, others in environment ministries; some are in centralised national administrations, whereas others operate in decentralised, sometimes federal, systems. NFPs maintain and develop the national network and facilitate and coordinate contacts, requests and deliveries at national and EU level. Some also act as advisers to their EEA Management Board members and develop contacts to other relevant networks.

National Reference Centres (NRCs)

National Reference Centres are nominated by Eionet member and cooperating countries. NRCs are established in specific environmental areas, for example air quality, health and environment, climate change, waste, nature and biodiversity, energy and many more. They play a key role in coordinating these topics and in providing relevant data and expertise. The NRC structure varies in accordance with the requirements and priorities of the EEA Multiannual Work Programme. The focus of work of NRCs differs according to the particular topic being dealt with, but all work with the EEA in fulfilling the work programme. NRCs are located in organisations which are regular collectors or suppliers of environmental data at the national level and/or possess relevant knowledge regarding various environmental issues, monitoring or modelling.

European Topic Centres (ETCs)

European Topic Centres (ETCs) are centres of thematic expertise contracted by the EEA to carry out specific tasks identified in the EEA Multiannual Work Programme and the annual work programmes. They are designated by the EEA Management Board following a Europe-wide competitive selection process and work as extensions of the EEA in specific topic areas. Each ETC consists of a lead organisation and specialist partner organisations from the environmental research and information community, which combine their resources in their particular areas of expertise. The ETCs, working together with Eionet countries, facilitate the provision of data and information from the countries and deliver reports and other services to the EEA and Eionet.